About the Institute

About the Institute » Our Fellows » Prof Frans van Vught

Prof Frans van Vught

Honorary Professorial Fellow

Frans van Vught is a high-level expert and advisor at the European Commission (EC).  In this capacity he chairs/has chaired several high-level expert groups on various EU policies in the fields of innovation, higher education and research. He served an eight year term as President and Rector Magnificus at the University of Twente in the Netherlands. Furthermore he was president of the European Center for Strategic Management of Universities (ESMU), president of the Netherlands House for Education and Research (Netherlands) and member of the board of the European Institute of Technology Foundation (EITF), all in Brussels. He is one of the two leaders of the EU sponsored project on the development of a new, multi-dimensional and user-driven global ranking tool called U-Multirank.

Frans has been a higher education researcher for most of his life. His many international functions include the chairmanship of the Council of the L.H. Martin Institute for higher education leadership and management in Australia, and the memberships of the University Grants Committee of Hong Kong (1993-2006), of the board of the European University Association (EUA) (2005-2009), of the German 'Akkreditierungsrat' (2005-2009) and of the Technical Advisory Group of the OECD project 'Assessing Higher Education Learning Outcomes' (AHELO) (2007-2013). In the Netherlands he was a member of the National Innovation Platform, of the Socio-Economic Council and of the Education Council. He currently chairs a national committee for the review of the higher education institution profiles in the Netherlands.

Frans is a sought-after international speaker and is an advisor to many international organisations, national governments and higher education institutions. He has published 30 books and more than 250 articles on higher education policy, higher education management and innovation strategies. Frans is honorary professorial fellow at the universities of Melbourne and Twente and holds several honorary doctorates.